Eketāhuna Our Town Committee

Some background information on the function of the Eketāhuna Our Town Committee.

Firstly, we are ALL VOLUNTEERS.

Our Town is a Registered Charity thereby enabling funding to be sourced and obtained from a number of funders. The Tararua District Council partially fund the operational costs of the Information Centre and provide funds that contribute to the costs of projects completed by the committee. 

We oversee the operation of the Information Centre, initiate and support projects in and around town.

Some of the projects are:

  • Commission and fund the New Zealand award winning mural at the Playground.
  • Install the lime track and the exercise stations at the Eketāhuna Domain aka Eketāhuna Rugby Grounds.
  • Commission and fund the painting of the large white Kiwi beside the Information Centre.
  • Donate money to the Swimming Pool Committee to provide free swimming for children over the summer.
  • Obtain funding for the renewal and expansion of the CCTV cameras.
  • Negotiate for the installation of an ATM machine in town.
  • Completed the Waka Park/Queen Mother Elizabeth Garden Project inherited from the community board.
  • Fund and install the new flag track system and flags for different events through the year.
  • Coordinate the annual Santa Cruise and due to Covid 19 market nights in 2021.
  • Design and install the welcome signs at each end of the town.
  • Had discussions with NZTA and successfully negotiated the installation of the 50 km warning signs south of Eketāhuna .
  • Planted the garden beside the Information Centre and installed metal kiwi in the gardens near the pedestrian crossing. 
  • A monthly newsletter is produced by our coordinator at the Information Centre. If you do not receive this please go into the centre in the main street and leave your contact details to receive a paper copy or a digital copy by email.

We meet on the second Thursday of each month at the St. Johns Hall @ 7pm. Please note everyone is welcome to attend Our Town meetings – we will appreciate you and encourage your views. We would welcome anyone to attend and if you have a project you ​would like to see happen then come along and get involved to see that project to completion.

  • Chair : Colin Fraser-Davies
  • Deputy Chair: Warren Chase
  • Secretary : Margaret Drysdale
  • Treasurer: Murray Sargison
  • Webmaster: Glynne MacLean

Our Town Meeting Minutes (PDF format)

Please note these are only loaded once ratified by the following meeting hence the AGM minutes appear seemingly out of order and when a monthly meeting is not held it can take much longer to upload the previous meeting’s minutes.

For more information, you can email Eketāhuna Information Centre.